Before we say goodbye - Madeleine Reiss

9781785764196
Title
Before we say goodbye - An emotional story of a Mother's love, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes
Author
Madeleine Reiss
format
Paperback / softback
Type
BOOK
Publisher
Zaffre
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20180222

£2.59
used

FREE Delivery

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode
Share
Share      Share with HUKD

PayPal Credit

'Gorgeous and Emotional' Fern Britton'I found it deeply moving and couldn't stop reading' Susan LewisA devastatingly beautiful novel about love, family and learning to let go, for fans of Jojo Moyes.Scott Hudson's mother, Josie, has dedicated her whole life to looking after him. When his heart failed, aged seven, her world came crashing down.Now, at nineteen, Scott is ill again, with little chance of another transplant he's worried his time is running out. He knows the news will devastate his mother once more.He owes her everything, so Scott decides to find someone to be there for Josie, if he can no longer be.Blissfully unaware of 'Project Boyfriend', Josie is startled when Scott sets her up on a series of blind dates. Unable to deny her son anything, she awkwardly finds herself back in the dating game . . . and enjoying it more than she ever imagined.But can her heart make room for someone new?

Madeleine Reiss was born in Athens. She worked for some years in an agency for street performers and comedians and then as a journalist and publicist. She has two sons and lives in Cambridge with her husband and her younger son.

I'm so glad I found it - I recommend it most highly
Being Anne Reading Book Blog

This story was extremely heart-warming. There were interesting turns and revelations throughout the book. It had great pacing. I would highly recommend this book to fans of women's fiction!
Chick Lit Chickadees Book Blog

This Last Kiss is a book about forgiveness, about first loves and true loves and of being able to find peace in things and move on. If you enjoyed reading Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, One Day by David Nicholls or One Summer Night by Emily Bold then I think you will enjoy This Last Kiss as it has the same emphasis of enjoying love and romance before it ultimately ends
That Thing She Reads Book Blog

This book was really good but be warned......UGLY CRY!!! I was sobbing uncontrollably! But this book has more than the ugly cry... it had me laughing and feeling full of love before it ripped my heart out...
Steph and Chris Book Reviews

An unexpected delight
Chick Lit Chickadees

An emotional, romantic and gentle read about love and family; I'm glad I got the chance to be introduced to author Madeleine Reiss
A Spoonful of Happy Endings

Any fairytale worth its salt has many dark moments
as it does stolen kisses...
Jenny O'Brien blog

It made me cry but it also left me feeling enriched by the whole reading experience. Just a gorgeous book!
My Chestnut Reading Tree

This was quite an emotional read that felt genuine and not over the top on the sympathy front. The relationship between Josie and Scott was so touching that you couldn't help be moved to tears as the story develops - have the tissues ready when you read this book! - and it approaches quite a tough subject with dignity. Highly recommended.
Bookkaz

This is a funny, reflective, wise and heartbreakingly sad story, told in a way which feels searingly honest... At times the author's evocative portrayal of grief and loss was visceral in its intensity, capturing the pain of wanting so desperately to hang on but having to learn to let go. Her recognition of the split between the coping persona a bereaved person presents to the world and the inner one which feels so alone, scared and fragmented that it is hard to believe it's possible to survive the pain of loss, was so moving and accurate that I didn't just cry, I sobbed. However, this isn't a book which is just about loss, it is also about hope and the recognition that love can be found in unexpected places if we open ourselves up to it...I have no hesitation in recommending this book - but make sure you have a box of tissues close by when you read it!
Nudge Books

Edition
Paperback original
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
376