Zero 7 - Simple Things

2 for 3 used


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the musicMagpieStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
Save big with our 2 for £3 pre-owned multi-buy offer.
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Number of Discs
Release Date
Zero 7
CD / Album
Label / Studio

Forget the rampant labeling of Zero 7 as the "British Air," because Simple Things is a debut album that stands on its own as a chilled, subtle collection of organic songs. There are hints of Air, but there are equally relevant comparisons that might be made with Morcheeba, Rae & Christian, Nightmares on Wax, and early Massive Attack. Indeed, after Morcheeba's overproduced Fragments of Freedom and Rae & Christian's sloppy Sleepwalking, Simple Things picks up the slack in a rewarding manner. Simple Things might just be a gentle Cinderella, a kind stepsister to Massive Attack's dark masterpiece, Mezzanine. It's rare that a post-trip-hop album is so interesting and engrossing, but the duo of Henry Binns and Sam Hardaker mix a number of musical elements, such as soul-influenced diva vocals, gurgling and ringing keyboards, and classical string arrangements, into a relaxing, potent wave of sounds. Though the album starts to meander in its closing tracks, the first 50 minutes are cohesive, vibrant, and calming. Highlights are too numerous to call out, as the duo switches from instrumentals to songs featuring passionate, energized vocals from Mozez, Sia Furler, and Sophie Barker. All three vocalists mingle as perfect matches to the smart arrangements. Twinkling keyboards, barely-there basslines, and acoustic guitars create rolling melodies that never interfere with the task at hand, that of chiseling textured aural atmospheres. Simple Things is an accomplished slice of soulful genius that rewards frequent spins. ~ Tim DiGravina

We are 5 Star rated on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

1) I Have Seen - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (05:07)
2) Polaris - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (04:48)
3) Destiny - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (05:37)
4) Give It Away - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (05:17)
5) Simple Things - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (04:24)
6) Red Dust - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (05:40)
7) Distractions - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (05:16)
8) In the Waiting Line - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (04:32)
9) Out of Town - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (04:47)
10) This World - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (05:35)
11) Likufanele - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (06:11)
12) End Theme - Henry Binns / Sam Hardaker / Zero 7 (03:39)
13) Salt Water Sound - Zero 7 (05:30)
14) Spinning - Zero 7 (06:03)

Simple Things
Universal Distribution
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Simple Things | Zero 7

FREE Delivery on all Orders!