The spark girl - Fiona Ford

9781409170112
Title
The spark girl - A heart-warming tale of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak
Author
Fiona Ford
format
Paperback / softback
Type
BOOK
Publisher
Orion Books
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20170824

£2.49
used

5 in Stock
FREE Delivery

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode
Share
Share      Share with HUKD

PayPal Credit

'A compelling first novel which I promise you won't be able to put down' Daisy Styles, bestselling author of The Bomb Girls

Can her fight for the country fix her broken heart?

A knock on the door early one morning wouldn't normally be cause for concern but it is 1941, Britain is at war, and Kitty Williams's fianc Joe is far from home fighting Hitler with the Navy.

As Kitty's heart is shattered into pieces hearing the news she had been dreading, resolve kicks in and she becomes more determined than ever to do her bit for the war effort.

Signing up to the Women's Army is just the sort of challenge Kitty needs and on meeting new recruits Mary, Di and Peggy, she is happy to learn that the challenge won't be a lonely one. But it also won't be easy and when bombs start to fall on her home town of Coventry, and supposed allies turn against her, Kitty must find the strength she never knew she had to save her family, fix her broken heart and help her country to victory.

The Spark Girl is an absorbing and poignant saga, perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean.

The second book in the series, The Spark Girl's Promise is now available for pre-order

'a fabulous debut from an immensely talented author' Annie Groves

'Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.' Lancashire Post

'Fiona Ford has written a charming and very appealing story...Kitty Williams is the girl we all want to be.' Swirl and Thread

'an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!' Jera's Jamboree

Fiona Ford was born in Cornwall and grew up in Bath. As well as having a thirst for books Fiona had a huge interest in history and adored listening to her grandfather talk about his time in the navy during World War Two. Together they spent many a happy afternoon poring over the large collection of photos he had taken travelling the globe, somehow managing to perfectly capture life during wartime. Although Fiona went on to develop a successful career as a journalist, she never forgot her passion for the past. Now, Fiona has combined her love of writing with her love of days gone by in The Spark Girl, the first in a series of wartime sagas.

Find out more about Fiona by following her on twitter @fionajourno, or visiting her website www.fionaford.co.uk.

Praise for THE SPARK GIRL - a heart-wrenching wartime saga:

A compelling first novel by Fiona Ford, which I promise you won't be able to put down


Daisy Styles, bestselling author of THE BOMB GIRLS

a fabulous debut from an immensely talented author
Annie Groves

Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.
Lancashire Post

'an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!'
Jera's Jamboree

Edition
1st paperback ed
Keyword Index
World War, 1939-1945 - England - Coventry - Fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
309

FREE Delivery on all Orders!