Various Artists - Negro Folklore from Texas State Prisons

Vinyl new


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the musicMagpieStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Number of Discs
Release Date
Various Artists
Vinyl / 12" Album
Label / Studio
Moochin' About

The recordings on this album were made in Texas prison farms in July 1964. Bruce Jackson had gone there in the hope of recording black convict work-songs, a tradition that derived from slavery, and, before that, was imported from Africa. Whilst there, Bruce found far more than worksongs.

We are 5 Star rated on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

1) Raise 'Em Up Higher - Johnny Jackson (2.55)
2) Don't Look So Downhearted, Buddy - Marshall Phillips (1.23)
3) Move Along 'Gator - Joseph 'Chinaman' Johnson (3.28)
4) Three Moore Brothers - Joseph 'Chinaman' Johnson (5.04)
5) Assassination of the President - Johnnie H. Robinson & Eddie Ray Zachery (2.36)
6) Don't Be Uneasy - George White (1.50)
7) Rattler - Jessie 'G.I. Jazz' Hendricks & Matt Williams (5.16)
8) Hammer Ring - Johnny Jackson (1.25)
9) T.B. Bees - Louis 'Bacon & Porckchop' Houston (1.00)
10) If You See My Mother - Mack Maze (1.33)
11) Just Like a Tree Planted By the Water - Joseph 'Chinaman' Johnson (3.50)
12) See How They Done My Lord - Houston Page (2.13)
13) Daniel in the Lion's Den - W.D. 'Alec' Alexander (4.17)
14) Fourt-four Hammers - Virgil Asbury (4.36)

Negro Folklore from Texas State Prisons
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Negro Folklore from Texas State Prisons | Various Artists
Catalogue Number

FREE Delivery on all Orders!