Hurry, item low in stock!

Vigil - Angela Slatter

9781784294045
Hurry only 1 in stock!
FREE Delivery on ALL Orders!
Title
Vigil - Verity Fassbinder Book 1
Author
Angela Slatter
format
Paperback / softback
Publisher
Jo Fletcher Books
Language
English
UK Publication Date
20170711

A rich and exciting new urban fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Peter Grant.

Verity Fassbinder has her feet in two worlds.

The daughter of one human and one Weyrd parent, she has very little power herself, but does claim unusual strength and the ability to walk between one world and the other as a couple of her talents. A rarity, she is charged with keeping the peace, and ensuring the Weyrd remain hidden.

But now Sirens are dying, illegal wine made from the tears of human children is for sale - and in the hands of those who hold to old, dangerous ways - and someone has released an unknown and terrifyingly destructive force on the streets of Brisbane.

Verity must investigate, or risk ancient forces carving the world apart.

Vigil is the first book in award-winning author Angela Slatter's Verity Fassbinder series.

'Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre' - British Fantasy Society

We are 5 Star rated on Trustpilot
Here's what you say about us...

Angela Slatter is the award-winning author of eight short story collections, including A Feast of Sorrows: Stories, Sourdough and Other Stories, The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings, and Winter Children and Other Chilling Tales. She has won the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award and five Aurealis Awards. Her short stories have appeared widely, including in annual British, Australian and North American Best Of anthologies, and her work has been translated into Spanish, Russian, Polish, Romanian, and Japanese. Vigil was her first solo novel, and the sequel Corpselight is due out in July 2017. Angela lives in Brisbane, Australia.

A brilliant start to what promises to be an enjoyable series . . . Angela has set the scene for the rest of the series, by offering an original and fresh tale encompassing many genres that will enthral all readers alike
Starburst Magazine

Angela Slatter's ink is full of intimate magic and hard wisdom. Her characters live and breathe and glance out at you from the page to question your motives. One of the best dark fantasy writers working today
Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of ARARAT and SNOWBLIND

The world of the Weyrd collides with modern-day Brisbane, bringing chaos in its wake. A brilliant new urban fantasy with elements of murder, mystery and magic - I'm already looking forward to the next Verity Fassbinder adventure
Alison Littlewood, author of A Cold Season

A rich paranormal dark fantasy.
Sydney Morning Herald Online - Colin Steele

Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre
British Fantasy Society

Rich and heady as honey mead, potent and earthy as great Scotch, the sublimely dark tales of Angela Slatter are an addictive delight
Neil Snowden

Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately.
. . . she conjures the secret and private worlds hidden just inside the curtains of reality, and she does it with sentences as sparse and sharp-edged as unused razor blades. Read this writer. She'll drop the scales right out of your eyes!
Jack Dann, award-winning author of The Memory Cathedral

A high-octane mix of Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Sue Grafton's Kinsey Milhone - dry, smart, funny, fuelled by a need to protect the weak, and driven by a past that haunts her. V. If you loved True Blood, or if you've ever loved a great PI series, then Vigil is for you. Smart, funny, and engaging. I can't wait for the sequel!
Jonathan Strahan, editor of The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year series

I highly recommend Vigil for people who enjoy urban fantasy, contemporary faery tales and women telling stories. . . it's the FIRST in the Verity Fassbinder series, which is just as well. I want more.
Dark Matter Zine

What's strong about this novel is its sense of place. This novel is utterly Australian (in the best of ways) . . .
I can't wait to see more
Ventureadlaxre

A darkly fun read that hooked me quickly and reeled me in
Earl Grey Editing blog - Elizabeth Fitzgerald

Rich, varied, powerful . . . A fine start to a new urban fantasy series, which I'll be following with great interest. Highly recommended.
The Review Curmudgeon

A fast paced story, with plenty of twists and turns to keep you invested.
Netgalley

Vigil is fast-paced, quirky, full of twists, and thoroughly grounded in Brisbane . .
.
I love it and I want more Verity.
Randomly Yours, Alex - Alex

Vigil is a brilliant debut novel from an exciting writer . . . Pacy and engaging, it's a book that demands to be finished once it has been started. Verity Fassbinder is a name, and a character, not quickly forgotten by the reader, sure to become a staple of the genre as the series progresses, as instantly recognisable as, say, Sookie Stackhouse or Katniss Everdeen.
Reader Dad

Vigil dares to be different, eloquent, emotive, and exciting in equal measures; it marks the start of what will become the new must-read urban fantasy series. You will be eagerly awaiting the next trip down under with baited breath; such is the brilliance of this novel
Ginger Nuts of Horror

Striking urban fantasy set in Brisbane . . . Verity has touches of Katniss Everdeen but quickly establishes herself as a strong, likeable and positive female heroine in her own right, and her topsy turvy adventures fighting for the powers of good in an almost divergent world are pleasing and fast-paced. This is the opening to a trilogy and the next volumes will prove most welcome
Lovereading

Type
BOOK
Edition
1st paperback ed
Keyword Index
Paranormal fiction.
Country of Publication
England
Number of Pages
vii, 371

FREE Delivery on all Orders!